The 7 Stages of Grieving

By Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman
Presented by Brown's Mart
Directed by Jada Alberts
3-18 March


“Powerful, demanding and culturally profound”

A woman stands alone on stage. Over one gripping hour, she traces seven phases of Aboriginal history - Dreaming, Invasion, Genocide, Protection, Assimilation, Self- Determination, and Reconciliation. A beloved Australian theatre work by two celebrated Indigenous storytellers.

The 7 Stages of Grieving is a vibrant and insightful account of what it means to be an Aboriginal woman in contemporary Australia. The 7 Stages of Grieving is a potent expression of strength and survival, as well as humour and joy. It’s an ode to the power of storytelling.

The 7 Stages of Grieving is part of our Education Program supported by Randazzo Properties

Production note Contains use of smoke
Content This performance depicts cultural genocide, racial abuse and trauma, and police brutality. This performance contains the names of people who have passed away. If you or someone you know needs information or support, Beyond Blue and Wellmob has a list of resources and organisations that are there to help.
Access This event is wheelchair accessible. There will be an Auslan interpreted performance of this show on Friday 17 March. You can sign up to our dedicated Auslan mailing list HERE
Pay What You Can If ticket price is a barrier for any Brown's Mart show, please contact Sophia at to discuss price options to match your circumstances.

Students and The 7 Stages of Grieving

The 7 Stages of Grieving by Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman is Brown's Mart's 2023 Education Program show.

The Education Program allows Territory Secondary Students to access quality performance of a syllabus linked text, and special schools discounts are available to matinee performances outside the advertised season dates.

Find out more about the Education program and how to register your school HERE

The Education Program is supported by our Education Partners Randazzo Properties.

a young woman dressed in black looking at the camera. She has straight dark hair and glowing medium toned skin, with her hands clasped in front of her.

“a milestone in Australian theatre history”

The 7 Stages of Grieving
By Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman
Directed by Jada Alberts
Starring Tahlia Biggs
Lighting Design by Bradley Fawcett
Sound Design by Matthew Cunliffe
With vocals by Emily Wurramara
Music Producer Kuya James
Vocal Engineer Caiti Baker

Supported by our Education Partners

Randazzo_Properties_Logo_Horizontal_Gradient copy 2

Come Say Hello

Site open
9-5, Mon-Fri

12 Smith St, Darwin
(08) 8981 5522

Join our Mailing List

Brown's Mart Arts Ltd

(T/as Brown’s Mart)
ABN: 67 141 763 895


12 Smith Street Darwin City
GPO Box 3451, Darwin NT 0801



Core Funder